We’ve all been in this situation before – accidentally deleting a critical document and having a slight panic attack just before realizing there might be a way to recover it. Often times, the deleted document can simply be recovered in your computer’s trashcan or recycling bin. Problem solved. But, what about deleting a document on a shared drive?
When utilizing a shared drive, it’s not always easy to retrieve the deleted document unless your shared drive is routinely backed up, even then it may be a hassle to recover. Shared drives, unfortunately, don’t have the convenience of the emergency backup trashcan. Accidentally deleting documents on a shared drive can be rather scary, mostly because when you accidentally delete a document, it can go unnoticed for a lengthy amount of time, making it even more difficult to retrieve in the long run.
Microtek can help prevent those panic attacks and avoid ever deleting a document by accident ever again. Our simple solution: document management software. Document management software offers the ability to define document and folder access rights along with the company’s document retention policies. This ultimately diminishes any risk of accidentally deleting documents by allowing only certain individuals the ability to delete any document(s) while utilizing this software. These individuals may be the manager, president or owner of the business.
These systems also offer trash folders with specific managing rights before being emptied meaning that only certain individuals have the power to manage the trash bin. Document management software also contains grace periods to retrieve deleted documents that end up in the trash folder to be recovered. So, if you do happen to delete a document, most systems will allow those documents to be held for however long you set your systems for. Last but not least, document retention schedules can be set up that dictate when documents can be deleted with having no way to delete them before the document retention date expires. It’s almost as if the document is securely locked for absolutely no possible way of deletion.
With these beneficial security features of document management software, you’re eliminating a lot of headaches and the fear of accidentally deleting your documents for good. For more information on how you can keep from ever deleting another document again, call Microtek today to talk to one our specialists about document management software.